Hometown 4th of July 5k Race

image

I was so pumped to do this race even though I just decided yesterday morning that I would run it. It is perfect for me to do close to home races right now so I don’t have to be away from my littlest man for too long! I was very excited that my kiddos and husband were there to watch me run. My little brother ran too!

Getting ready before the race is a little different than before kids! My little guy (who is 8 months today) likes to eat every 2 hours. I did still manage a good 2 mile warm-up.

IMG_0691I had the absolute best number for Independence Day… 76! I should have known it was going to be the perfect race!

IMG_0743The start was down a very steep hill and the finish was up the same steep hill. I started out running fast and tried to keep up the pace!

IMG_0714I was so excited to get first woman overall with a time of 20:23! This is actually my fastest 5k time! I was really hoping to break 21 minutes based on my training times. I am so excited everything came together and I was able to do it! I was out of breath for most of the race and the hill at the end felt extra hard. I know I will be sore tomorrow!

IMG_0703IMG_0727

Leave a Reply

