I am a Runner

IMG_1823

I am a runner.

I also love to swim, bike, play tennis, play backyard games, and more…but I will always be a runner, first and foremost.

There is nothing else like it! Nothing else makes me feel as good. Running improves my mood, attitude, and overall outlook on life. Trust me, you can tell if I need to run! I have all types of runs (planned, spontaneous, slow, hard, group, fun, quick, tired, motivated, hilly, sluggish, never-ending, quiet, long…I could go on and on) but they are all good in the end! I usually don’t know exactly what type of run I will have until I start. None of my runs are ever exactly alike but they all end with me in a better mood. I can then be a better person. I have been running for so long and know so many runners it feels like my normal. Running has changed my life for the better!

But here’s the thing: after having three (wonderful!) children, running wasn’t enough anymore. I wanted to be stronger, lose a few pounds, and tone up. I was skeptical about Shakeology, but I thought maybe the DVD workouts might be good. So I borrowed T25 from my cousin and I loved it!! I felt so much stronger. I am toning muscles on my body that I didn’t even know I had! I asked my husband to buy me the PiYo DVDs for Mother’s Day…and I loved those too! I got so excited and bought the 21 day fix extreme. Yep, loved those workouts too! As I got stronger from my DVD workouts I even saw my running improve. Seven minute miles for a 5 mile run?! A 5k PR of 20:23?! I haven’t been that fast for years! How is this possible? I ran competitively in high school and college but now I’m hitting personal records for every distance I run!

This was when I started thinking, “Maybe Beachbody is for real…I guess I could give Shakeology a serious try and see if it exceeds my expectations too. Now, I should tell you that I’ve had protein shakes before. I tried to use Whey protein shakes as meal replacements but I was always hungry after. One of my favorite things about Shakeology is that it feels like a milkshake! I don’t feel like I need another treat all day.

I’m sure there are people who don’t need the shakes at all.

I bet there are people who would benefit from the shakes for short periods of time, just to help a little.

I still don’t know if I will drink Shakeology all year round. I’ll figure out if I need it as I go! But I’m SUPER happy that I tried it! (I often wish I would have tried it a lot sooner!)

I am a runner. I am also now a believer in Beachbody and Shakeology.

Leave a Reply

