Healthy Watermelon Cake

IMG_2778My mom and I are both eating healthy foods.  We are currently following the 21 day fix eating plan and drinking Shakeology (YUM!)

I asked if I could bring dessert to her birthday party for a lot of our extended family and some of her friends.  I was planning to bring an almond torte cake, her favorite!  However, she said she wasn’t really planning on having dessert, but I could bring something if it was healthy!  No dessert for a birthday party?!  I totally get where she is coming from, because it is easier to eat better foods if you aren’t tempted.  But we needed a cake!

Well this is what I came up with… A toasted almond watermelon fruit cake!

IMG_2750It looked amazing and tasted delicious!  People were even going back for seconds…. I heard them say, “I can have more, it’s just watermelon!”  I think sometimes everyone likes a healthy option!  I definitely recommend it!

What you need:

  • watermelon
  • cool whip
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 1 cup almonds
  • fruit to decorate (I used strawberries and blueberries)

What to do:

  • Cut the sides (rind) of the watermelon off so you are left with one big piece of watermelon.
  • Spread cool whip over all sides of the watermelon.
  • Melt butter on stove and add almonds.  Toast about 10 minutes on low heat.  Stir frequently being careful not to burn them.
  • Once almonds are cool put on cake with fruit to decorate.
One thought on “Healthy Watermelon Cake

Leave a Reply

