My first virtual race!

IMG_2025I did my first virtual race yesterday!  It was called Run for Nepal: virtual 5k race for the victims of earthquakes in Nepal.  I found out about it through a running group I am in.

FullSizeRenderI figured that I virtually coach people through Beachbody… why not do a virtual race! Haha! To do a virtual race you have to have a running app on your phone to record it.  You have 24 hours to run 5 kilometers anywhere you want.  They even send you a virtual bib!

IMG_2050My husband and I planned to run it on a very flat/easy course right next to a huge playground for the kiddos.  However, after a very dry summer we now have never ending rain and we couldn’t take the kids out to that playground.  Instead, we ran our usual run course which definitely has some hills!  The kids still got to come be goofy!  IMG_2016It is a little harder to get pumped up for a virtual race but at the same time I knew it was a race!  I definitely didn’t get nervous before and I ran all by myself listening to music (which I don’t usually do in a race)!  I felt great with a time of 20:38!  This is my third time this summer under 21 minutes!  My husband also did great with a time of 19:53!

IMG_5150I have been running 5k’s all of my life and I can’t believe the three I did this summer are my three fastest times ever!  I owe my recent success to Shakeology and the cross training I’ve done from PIYO and other Beachbody DVD workouts.

Here are the results from the race: 

There were 704 participants with 241 finishers.  I think a lot of people had technical difficulties with their devices because it was a little bit tricky to figure out.  Others probably signed up just to donate to a good cause and did not have any intention of running.  Out of the 241 finishers, 118 were female.  I actually got third overall and first female!  My husband got 2nd overall!

Here is the link to the RESULTS (My husband accidentally signed me up as Carrie Smuth instead of Smith! Haha!  I’ll let it slide this time!)

Check out the PHOTO GALLERY

Leave a Reply

