Anniversary Bike Trip

Every year we try to do something really special for our anniversary.  To be honest, a bike trip is my (and I think his 😉 ) FAVORITE way to celebrate.  This was our second overnight trip for our anniversary (we also did it to celebrate our 5th).  I’m sure we would have done it more often… but a lot of the past years I had a big pregnant belly or a new baby that we couldn’t leave.  (7 years ago was my first overnight bike trip and I was pregnant… but was super careful not to overdue it!)

We started in Ohiopyle with everything we needed – bikes, a change of clothes, packed lunch, snacks, and water.   IMG_3544.jpeg

Some parts of the trail were harder than others.  (Thankful that he carried my bike through this!)IMG_7121.jpeg

We drank Hydrate (Beachbody Performance- the official sports nutrition supplement of Ironman Triathlons) which really helped us feel good the entire way, especially with the heat and humidity!  Oh, AND check out my new Garmin watch!  For our anniversary we gave each other matching watches!IMG_7151.jpeg

There are so many awesome bridges and tunnels along the way… IMG_3249.jpeg

And lots to see!  IMG_3152.jpeg

Sometimes we went slow… IMG_9831.jpeg

and sometimes faster!  IMG_3465.jpeg

He started to get a little crazy…IMG_5463.jpeg

and I got a little goofy towards the end!  IMG_3602.jpeg
But we finished the 57 miles on the first day strong!  You can check out my Strava data here.  I know part of the reason we felt so great is that we had Beachbody Recover as soon as we checked in to our bed & breakfast.  It held us over until dinner and helped our sore/tired muscles (plus it tastes like a delicious treat)!  IMG_9534.jpeg

We walked to the most perfect Mexican restaurant and took our time eating (something that would be hard to do with 3 littles)!  I even had a frozen margarita!  IMG_2767.jpeg

The next morning we left our cute little bed and breakfast to do it all again 🙂  IMG_0358.jpeg

I could ride over these bridges all day!  IMG_9718.jpeg

But maybe just a few tunnels… they FREAK me out!  Especially the ones that don’t have any lights!  IMG_2900.jpeg

I love the fact that everything we need for the 2 days fits on our bikes.  We will definitely be back for more!  It was the best way to celebrate 8 years together.     IMG_3612.jpeg

Someday we want to go all the way to DC (like my parents did a couple of weeks ago)!  IMG_5775.jpeg

If you are interested in Beachbody Performance or want to know more about it complete the form below.

One thought on “Anniversary Bike Trip

  1. Pingback: August Already! | CarrieFitSmith

Leave a Reply

