Boston Marathon Recap!

This Easter holiday was quite different… but I loved every minute of it!   We managed to fit a lot in too!     FullSizeRender-1.jpg

Nate and I even got to pay attention at church… without kids! 😉  We went to church in Connecticut, towards the end of our 9 hour drive to Boston!  FullSizeRender-2.jpg

We spent the rest of Sunday exploring Boston and shocked by the crowds of runners getting ready for the marathon!  IMG_9026.JPG

The energy at the expo was so much fun!  We enjoyed it all!  FullSizeRender-3.jpg

We had the perfect pre-race evening!  I made sure to hydrate extra because I knew race day would be warmer than I’m used to.  I also found out that during the race there was a side-wind… imagine that! 😉  IMG_9035.JPG

I have heard for YEARS (my parents have done 20+ marathons each!) how great the Boston Marathon is but only now, after having FINISHED, I know it truly is an amazing experience!  I think finishing any marathon is amazing.  However, most marathons are more individual (which I love… I am very self motivated!) whereas Boston is support from an entire city plus many, many more people that appreciate this marathon!

I have the best family and friends… which is why I am able to train for a marathon and go!  I had my best training leading up to this marathon and I think I am in my best marathon shape ever.  I was so grateful to be healthy, injury free, and rested going into this marathon.  I also was worry free about my kids who were taken care of by both sets of grandparents.  My husband was with me to help with everything!  I don’t think it could be more perfect.

My day started out at 6 am with my usual race day oatmeal breakfast.  The hotel then shuttled us to the long line of busses that would take all the runners to the start line.  Don’t be fooled by my throw away clothes… it was already a sunny 68 degrees early in the morning!FullSizeRender-4.jpg  My bus arrived to Hopkinton around 9 am where I hung out at Athletes Village for about the next 2 hours.  Athletes Village felt like a huge party with lots of food, music, and port-a-potties!  I even put a few tattoos on my arms there!    FullSizeRender-5.jpg

At 10:50 it was finally time for me to start!  FullSizeRender 2.jpg

I followed my plan to run the first few miles conservatively.  Considering the 70 degree and sunny weather I planned to not use too much energy on the early miles and pick it up or slow down depending on what I needed.  After a short time I was dripping with sweat and very hot.  Things that never hurt on me started to hurt.  I never want to make excuses while I’m running (because if I start they will just keep coming!) but I knew the heat was a big factor for me.  All of my training was outside in cold weather and my body just isn’t used to the heat yet.

At mile 7, I made the decision that I was going to finish and do the best I could do.  Sure, it was a little depressing looking at my watch and feeling like I was going faster than I actually was, but I am proud to say I finished.  I also never walked or stopped running.  I did my best to use the excitment from the crowd and my own motivation to keep me going!  From being a runner that doesn’t love hydrating while running… I took a sip of gatorade or water almost every mile and dumped water on my head more than 10 times!  In addition to all the liquid, I ate three huma gels and my stomach felt great.  My legs and body temperature were what was holding me back.  I looked forward to dumping a cup full of water on my head and neck most miles. There were a few cool sprinklers, ice cubes, and wet paper towels along the course and they felt wonderful.  Somehow, at mile 18, I got water in my right ear and couldn’t get it out!  I couldn’t hear in that ear at all until a few minutes after I finished!  Which may be why I didn’t hear my amazing husband cheering at mile 25 for me.  IMG_9052.JPG

It’s crazy because I remember thinking that I didn’t want my picture taken… I imagined my form being way off and feeling like I looked terrible, but a lot of the pictures I’ve seen I really like!  IMG_9103.JPG

I honestly didn’t know if I would be able to stand once I got to the finish line!  I did stand and walk through (what felt like) a mile of finish line food to where I could finally get to my husband!  After I finished, the weather was overcast and much, much cooler!  I actually needed the foil blanket to keep me and my wet clothes warm!    IMG_9049.JPG

Although my goal time was 20+ minutes faster I finished at 3:50:28.  I was 12,865 out of 26,411 total finishers and I was the 4,355 female out of 11,973 females.  IMG_9105.PNG

We then went with a huge crowd on the T and back to our hotel!  The entire time I felt awesome with people asking if I ran the entire marathon! 🙂  We had a delicious dinner and relaxing night.  It’s the best when you have a runner husband that loves hearing and sharing every detail!  He has some really funny spectator stories and got in a long run before I even started the marathon!  IMG_9060.JPG

I’m typing this with the sorest legs I’ve ever had!  I know that in the future I want to run many more marathons and Boston again… when I can do it with my favorite running family and friends!  I will never forget this great experience and I’m so thankful for everyone who helped me make it happen. FullSizeRender-6.jpg

Leave a Reply

