Cleveland Marathon!

I quickly decided after running Boston that I wanted to do a marathon again and soon! 🙂  I know that my body needed time to recover (and I didn’t run at all for an entire week)!  I also knew that I did not feel my best at Boston and wanted to try one more time with all of the training I had already done!

After doing a little marathon research I decided Cleveland would be great!  This meant we got to sleep two nights at Nate’s parents’ house which was perfect!  This is our best attempt at “pretend” sleeping! Haha 🙂  FullSizeRender-4.jpg

This race was everything I wanted it to be!  It was a lot more low-key than both the Pittsburgh and Boston marathons.  Nate and I drove to Cleveland that morning and had plenty of time to get to the start line.  IMG_9619.JPG

I just remember feeling SO great for the first 7+ miles.  It was quite the opposite feeling a month ago at mile 7!  I continued to remind myself that I trained to feel this good!  FullSizeRender-2.jpg

Around mile 14 things definitely started to feel hard and I decided to not worry about it too much and instead kind of zone out for a little while.  I did that and before I knew it I was at mile 17 and feeling like I could pick it up a little!  Around 18 I started to hurt again but felt huge rain drops and hoped there would NOT be lightning to cancel the race.  I really wanted to finish!

The weather was predicted to storm (with lighting) at race time which would cause the officials to cancel the marathon.  Plus, it was supposed to be 70 degrees with 80% humidity!  However, it actually ended up being a perfect day… There wasn’t much sun and the breeze from the lake made it feel cooler!

I loved that Nate was able to see me a few times on the course plus run 20 miles on his own around the city!  IMG_9625.JPG

The last 3 miles felt the toughest but I just kept pushing on (slower than before) but still happy and even smiling!  🙂  IMG_9624.JPG

My time was almost the same as a month ago at Boston, but I felt completely different!  I loved this marathon and want to do it again someday!  FullSizeRender.jpg

I also love that we were back with our kiddos to celebrate Nate’s dad’s 70th birthday before lunch time!  FullSizeRender-1.jpg

Unlike Boston, I’m not very sore… and even felt like a little hike with the whole group the next morning!  FullSizeRender-3.jpg

Leave a Reply

