Butler YMCA Sprint Triathlon

One of my brothers texted to let us know he was going to do this Tri… so my sister and I quickly signed up too!  I love doing races especially with family and friends! IMG_9681.JPG

I get super excited that this race is an open water swim (even if it is only 400 meters)!  The fact that it is open water seems exciting, even though I had a hard time getting into a good rhythm.  My swim was over in 6:21 (too short!) 🙂  IMG_9689.JPG

Then the bike was VERY hilly!  I feel that I need to use my brakes on the downhills more then most racers do 😉 but the 7 miles went by really fast!  My bike time was 29:52.IMG_9703.JPG

Before I knew it… I was running my bike back to the transition area!  IMG_9732.JPG

I took a Huma gel and a quick drink (while running) to give me some energy for the 3.2 mile run!  IMG_9734.JPG

I felt (mostly) great on the run!  My run time was 23:47.  IMG_9760.JPG

My total time was 1:02:27.  This was almost my exact same time as last year!
FullSizeRender.jpg

It actually felt like we were racing together because my sister and I were in the 2nd heat and my brother was in the 4th heat.  He caught me and passed me halfway through the run!     IMG_9776.JPG

They both got 2nd place overall and I got first in my age group!  FullSizeRender-1.jpg

I’m thankful for these goofballs too!  They were able to cheer me on, take lots of pictures, AND fight with sticks! 🙂  IMG_1335.JPG

Then we spent the rest of the afternoon swimming and playing!  It was a great day!   FullSizeRender-2.jpg

Leave a Reply

