North Park Triathlon

I have done this triathlon more than a handful of times but this time it was so much different!  It was a complete Tri weekend… Denny participated in the Kids Triathlon for the first time on Saturday!

We practiced and trained for at least a month before.  When I first signed him up, I thought he would be using training wheels for the bike.  I was so excited that in just 2 weeks he learned to ride without training wheels AND improved at swimming!  He started to love biking… Nate would sometimes even draft off of him 😉IMG_1751.JPG

The 7 year olds swam 50 meters, biked 1.5 miles, and ran 0.5 miles.  He did SO awesome!  He took it seriously and had a lot of fun!  IMG_1847.JPG

I love watching him (and all of the kids)!  It is very motivating!  I think it’s also awesome that so many of my family members volunteered to make this event so great!  Here is the “hot corner” where my mom directed the bikers and runners!  IMG_1802.JPG

Sunday morning I actually felt more relaxed than usual before a race and felt like I really enjoyed it!  I didn’t get many pictures but I did feel great!  My time was 1:23:04 which was very similar to last year… and almost exactly one hour longer than Denny’s race!  🙂

Here I am happy to finish the bike (my least favorite part) and start the run (my favorite)!
IMG_1881.JPG

The kids cheered us on with a bunch of my family!  FullSizeRender.jpg

Nate got 2nd in his age group and I got first in mine!  IMG_1865.JPG

Then… as if this wasn’t a good enough day, we went to Kennywood to ride every ride that we can’t go on with the kids!  We had so much fun and were definitely tired when we went to bed!  IMG_1870.JPG

 

 

Leave a Reply

